Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 5th, 2011

Last night I had the worst night’s sleep ever.

Firstly, I was so close to the end of “Paper Towns” that I couldn’t go to bed until I’d finished it. Fact. If under 50 pages from the end of a book, it’s your moral obligation to finish it before you go to sleep.

Secondly, when I finally did finish at about 1.30am, I miraculously went straight to sleep. However, I woke up soon later due to an earthquake, which according to the JMA, should have been barely noticable. Curse my sensitive ways!

I couldn’t get back to sleep straight afterwards, so turned on my computer. I don’t recall doing anything on it at all, other than turning it on. I soon drifted off again.

However… I have to do a presentation at 10.30 this morning. That requires being up early to practice said presentation, make myself look decent enough to stand infront of the lab and speak, and also make it onto campus itself, which takes a minimum of 40 minutes. If there is something I need to wake up early for, I can guarantee that sleeping properly is not an option. I kept waking up. Continuously.

4am? PANIC! It might be 9am… *checks time on phone*… *goes back to bed*.

5.15am? PANIC! What if I’ve missed it?! *checks time on phone*… *goes back to bed*.

7.30am? PANIC! I was supposed to wake up at 7.15!!! Where was my alarm when I needed it?! …. Oh, just 10 more minutes *back to sleep*.

7.50? BUGGAR! Now I really do need to be up!

I maybe woke up 10 times last night, and certainly got no more than 4 hours sleep.

I am incredibly nervous. Much more so than having to do a presentation in York. Why? Well to start with, I will be speaking infront of some of the best academics in their field. Secondly, I have to talk about myself.

Myself.

There is nothing interesting to say! I have never performed any of my own research, or been involved in anyone elses’, as I’ve only just finished second year.

I am terrified.

And am now lay in bed (at 9.10am) drinking coffee in my pyjamas. Woops! Time to get going!

Wish me luck!

Read Full Post »